RSS

Gotta Keep ‘Em Separated

07 Oct

Songs by The Offspring always make me want to jump up and down my bed in rebellion. I have not done that. I figured a broken bed would not be pleasant to sleep in.

20121007-200707.jpg
Lemon Granita

Ahh! A cool slush-y drink on the hot summer’s day. For us living in the tropics, summer is everyday. The heat, the humidity, makes us crave for something cool and refreshing.

Lemon Granita is fairly simple to make, but it takes a long time. Started off with some homemade lemonade (hehe! cool rhyme!), which is just lemon juice, sugar syrup and some lemon zest. And use pure lemon juice, please. Squeeze the lemons yourself. Do not use the bottled kind. You will not be forgiven.

The mixture is then poured into a shallow dish or baking dish and then freeze for about 4 hours. Every half hour to 45 mins or so, take it out and with a fork, break up the ice crystals that have started to form. This is a crucial step so that the ice crystals stay separated. I put a timer on my phone for 45 mins. When it beeped, in my case the sound it made is “boing!”, I stirred the granita, and reset the timer again.
Yes, it was a little time-consuming but it’s not difficult.

When it was ready, I served it in a glass bowl and garnished with some lemon zest, a sprig of mint an a lemon wedge. The only things missing were a deck chair, a beach umbrella and sand between my toes.

20121007-204020.jpg
Photo grabbed from Google Search

That is where I want to slowly sip my Lemon Granita.

-hazrock, original prankster

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Gotta Keep ‘Em Separated

  1. Carmen & Natasha

    October 8, 2012 at 12:55 am

    This looks awesome – perfect for Singapore! Thanks for the recipe!

     
    • hazrock

      October 8, 2012 at 7:11 am

      Yup they are! Thank you. And thanks for stopping by. 🙂

       
  2. David

    October 8, 2012 at 7:29 am

    The offspring equals a lemon drink. Well!! Awesome!!!

     
    • hazrock

      October 8, 2012 at 7:31 am

      I don’t know how I can associate The Offspring with a lemon drink. Lol!

       

Comments are appreciated