RSS

Get Shorty

13 Sep

20120913-214455.jpg
Strawberry Shortcake

I googled images of “strawberry shortcake” the other day and I was in awe of the results. Almost every image is beautiful! Really, even the not so pretty amateurish ones.

And I was quite intrigued by strawberry shortcakes. Like the Red Velvet Cupcakes I made earlier, I’ve never had it before.

The shortcake itself is light and flaky, really good. For the filling, I used chopped strawberries macerated in orange juice and zest and a little bit of sugar. And as a short cut (pun intended), I had half a tub of whipped topping in the fridge, which will be expiring end of the month, so I used that. Garnished with a little dollop more of whipped topping and a fresh strawberry.

Even though I broke a bit of the shortcake while assembling this, it still looked so pretty. Too pretty to eat. But who am I kidding. To make a long story short (another bad pun), let’s dig in! Yummmm!!!

My kids had mixed reactions about this. One liked the shortcake and only the shortcake. The other liked the shortcake and whipped topping, while another only went for the strawberries. In short (stop it with the puns!), as long as you kids are happy, I’m happy!

-hazrock, vertically challenged

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Get Shorty

  1. David

    September 13, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    This is sooooo my favorite

     
    • hazrock

      September 13, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      So yummmmmyyy!! Seconds please! 🙂

       
  2. My Food Trolley

    September 14, 2012 at 12:06 am

    looks yumm!!!

     
    • hazrock

      September 14, 2012 at 6:03 am

      Thank you! 🙂

       
  3. ~Lady Day

    September 14, 2012 at 1:06 am

    lol…this just made me laugh…you are quite punny….and so glad you finally got to try strawberry shortcake…sakes! What else have you been missing out on for desserts?

     
    • hazrock

      September 14, 2012 at 6:05 am

      Punny?? Hahahha another new word! Hmmmm I don’t know. Can’t think of any right now. But I’m sure I’m missing out on. Lot more! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
