RSS

You Jerk

06 Oct

“So next time someone makes you feel little
Just sing this song inside your head
And like a great big cartoon bubble
These lovely words will dance above their head”

-Kim Stockwood (Song : You Jerk)

20131006-200614.jpg
Picture grabbed from Google Search

*rantings of a woman scorned. Expletives optional*
Enough said…

20131006-201016.jpg
Homemade Jamaican Jerk Chicken with Rice and Peas

Where has this chicken dish been all my life? I have never had Jerk Chicken before. I’m not sure if I should be a wise ass and try to make it myself by learning from websites. I feel that if I want to try new food, I should try a really authentic one, and then go into my kitchen and try to replicate that. But really, I don’t know if there are any restaurants where I live that serves Jerk Chicken. Oh well..

20131006-201702.jpg
The spices used looked so promising! I marinated the chicken in the morning and left it in the fridge all day to soak up all that wonderful flavors. By dinner time, I just threw it in the oven and let it cook for an hour.

The Rice and Peas that accompanied tastes really good too. Rice cooked in coconut milk with ginger, thyme and chicken stock. Wow. So flavorful!

Good day in the kitchen…

-hazrock, scorned

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 6, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “You Jerk

  1. David

    October 7, 2013 at 9:20 am

    Looks completely delicious 🙂

     

Comments are appreciated

 
