RSS

Smashing Pumpkins

04 Jun

“And we don’t know
Just where our bones will rest
To dust I guess
Forgotten and absorbed into the earth below”

-Smashing Pumpkins (Song : 1979)

20130604-212428.jpg
Picture grabbed from Google Search

The early 90s, especially the grunge era, was a confusing time for me. It was a stark realization that the reign of “hair metal” bands was over. And scruffy musicians took their place. Slowly, I began to accept grunge/alternative music. And these bands have proved themselves to be as awesome. Who knew!

20130604-213000.jpg
Homemade Pumpkin Soup with Garlic Toast

I want Pumpkin Soup! Such a weird craving I had. Just out of the blue, just like that and I pictured smooth and creamy Pumpkin Soup and dipping it with bread.

20130604-213155.jpg
Pumpkin Purée in a can.

I make no apologies for using canned pumpkin purée. With our modern and busy daily lives, who has the time to make it from scratch? And besides, only a specific kind of pumpkin is best for roasting and pureeing, the sugar pumpkin. Now where am I gonna get sugar pumpkin?
I see sugar pumpkins sold at “gourmet” supermarkets only around Halloween where I live.

Of course, I added a little bit of cream at the end to make it rich and err.. creamy. Yum! Seconds please!

-hazrock, ava adore

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Smashing Pumpkins

  1. elfcentric

    July 21, 2013 at 11:47 pm

    nice post abt grunge n the 90’s. My fav grunge bands was STP, soundgarden, alice in chains, 4 non blondes.. fav 90s spots pacific plaza n tower books n tower recs ! haha

     
    • hazrock

      July 21, 2013 at 11:57 pm

      Alice In Chains! RIP Laney Staley. Oh I miss Tower Records and Books! I hanged out there quite a bit. Mostly browsing.
      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
