RSS

Red Hot Chili Peppers

26 Apr

“Someone better slap me before I start to rust, before I start to decompose”
-Red Hot Chili Peppers (Song : Aeroplane)

20130426-080911.jpg
Picture grabbed from Google Search

Ahh! Dave Navarro played on this one. I don’t really listen to “funny” bands. By “funny” I meant funny-weird, not funny-haha. They have come a long way since “Higher Ground”, “Give It Away” and “Mother’s Milk”. And who can forget that “sock” picture of them crossing Abbey Road a la The Beatles? Heh!

20130426-081427.jpg
Homemade Roasted Cream of Tomato Soup with Garlic-Parmesan Croutons

I love the color of this soup. Pure red! Although I did add whole basil leaves for flavor when cooking. I fished it out just before I blended the soup with an immersion blender so that the green didn’t interrupt the full-on vermillion I was hoping for.

I used and Italian-brand canned tomatoes. Italians have the best tomatoes, or so I’m told.

20130426-082602.jpg
I’ve also used fresh tomatoes roasted in the oven with balsamic vinegar and salt. That brought out the sweetness of the tomatoes. A little touch of cream at the end of the cooking, after blending, provided richness to the soup. Yum!
Served the soup with some Garlic-Parmesan Croutons. So good!

And I will have some for lunch today. But no more croutons because the kids have snacked on them. So just with plain salt crackers will do.

-hazrock, breaking the girl.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Red Hot Chili Peppers

  1. omgsianz

    April 26, 2013 at 8:49 am

    i love that colour too! haha vermillion reminds me of a friend of mine who had this pair of red pants and every time someone said red pants, he would say no, vermillion! hehe random story :p HAPPY TGIF!

     
    • hazrock

      April 26, 2013 at 9:00 am

      Oh sheesh! I used to have a pair of red pants too when I was in my teens. It once belonged to my aunt from way back in the 80s. And we know how funky that decade was. Haha!

       

Comments are appreciated

 
