RSS

Days Gone By

21 Apr

“Days gone by. Do you remember when we were the best of friends?”
-Slaughter (Song : Days Gone By)

20130421-182937.jpg
What do I immediately think about when the band Slaughter comes into mind? Screaming girls. And in today’s context, fangirls. I did enjoy some of their music. Maybe I was a fangirl too. I shall not confirm or deny it.

20130421-183136.jpg
Lontong Goreng from Mukmin Restaurant

Ahh.. This used to be my playground. So many childhood memories of growing up in the Bedok area in Singapore. This Mukmin Restaurant will always have a place in my heart. There was a kids’ playground right next to it. I used to play there a lot. It has since been demolished and a clock tower now stands in its place.
But the restaurant has stood well against the test of time. I went there just a few days ago.

20130421-183542.jpg
Front view of the restaurant. Picture grabbed from Google Search.

The Lontong Goreng pictured above is probably the best Lontong Goreng I’ve eaten. Ever. The one I made in an earlier post (A Little Bit Of Everything) didn’t even come close to the one served at Mukmin. So flavorful. So yummy. Takes me back to happy childhood days. Sigh…

A simple dish, really. Lontong (rice cakes) fried in spices. Served warm (or cold, doesn’t matter) and topped with spring onions, fried shallots and shredded chicken. A fried egg and cucumber slices are added on the side. Yes please!

-hazrock, fly to the angels

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Days Gone By

  1. David

    April 21, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Food looks wonderful and I always feel a little sad when things from the old days are gone. Great post

     
    • hazrock

      April 21, 2013 at 8:00 pm

      Thank you David. The swings are gone. But memories remain…

       

Comments are appreciated

 
