RSS

American Pie

15 Mar

“A long long time ago, I can still remember how that music used to make me smile.”
-Don McLean (Song : American Pie)

20130315-212605.jpg
Picture grabbed from Google Search.

Don McLean‘s magnum opus. I remembered hearing this song for the first time in the 90s, immediately fell in love with it and went out and bought the CD soundtrack for the Tom Cruise movie Born On The Fourth Of July. In the lyrics, “The day the music died” refers to the tragic plane crash which killed Buddy Holly, Richie Valens and The Big Bopper.

20130315-212709.jpg
Homemade Banana Cream Pie

I love this! First time making and I took some shortcuts to make it easier. I was going to use a store-bought graham cracker crust but I couldn’t find any at a few supermarkets I went to. And I have never been able to find graham crackers where I live. So I used bashed-up digestive biscuits with a little melted butter for the crust.

Bananas are peeled and sliced and mixed with a little leftover caramel sauce from a bottle, the one we eat ice-cream with. Dumped the caramel-coated bananas onto the crust which had a chance to chill in the fridge for a few minutes.

Then came another shortcut, vanilla pudding cups. I was not in the mood to make pastry cream. Egg yolks, milk, stirring and stirring over the stove. Nope! Not today!

And finally to finish it off, I decided to put in some muscle and whipped up some cream and confectioner’s sugar.

20130315-212904.jpg
Looks divine!

20130315-212938.jpg
Yeay! Mine! Mine! Mine!

-hazrock, bananas in pajamas

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are appreciated

 
