RSS

Jenny

08 Mar
Jenny

“She keeps her distance and sits on fences.
Puts up resistance and builds defenses.”

-The Click Five (Song : Jenny)

20130308-224135.jpg

To me, that’s a “fooling around” song, nothing serious. And The Click Five is a “kid’s” kind of band, i.e even children are listening to them. Happy catchy tune, I can’t help not singing along. Just because I CAN’T sing doesn’t mean I WON’T sing.

20130308-231427.jpg
Jeneket from Bedok Corner Food Centre

Jeneket (pronounced : jeer-nay-kate) is a classic Malay snack. It is just a slightly sweet dough, fried in oil. It contains potash which is actually just plain ol’ bicarbonate of soda and that made the Jeneket airy and full of air pockets. They puff up slightly when cooked.

20130308-232836.jpg
This one is a little too flat and not puffed-up enough. But it still tasted good. Yum!

This snack fondly reminds me of my late Nenek (granny). She was an expert in making traditional Malay cakes. She passed away when I was in my mid 20s. Sometimes I felt slight regrets that I didn’t at least try to acquire her skills in making these tasty treats.

I think “jeneket” is cute and fun to say. I recently read somewhere that some people referred to this as “Jenny Cake”, just because it sounds similar. Why? Why? Why? Why “westernize” names of our Malay cakes? DON’T!

-hazrock, no offense Jenny!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Jenny

  1. luvnorcal

    March 9, 2013 at 1:46 am

    Hahaha you listen to Click Five! 😉

     
    • hazrock

      March 9, 2013 at 6:47 am

      Lol!!! Not really. Just that one song. Haha

       

Comments are appreciated

 
