RSS

Everlong

23 Jan

“The only thing I’ll ever ask of you
You gotta promise not to stop when I say when”

-Foo Fighters (Song : Everlong)

20130122-213715.jpg

This is a song that me and my 11-year-old son, Razin, love! He listened to me in wonder (or it just might have been dazed?) when I related a little rock history to him. Glorious tales of how Foo Fighters evolved from Nirvana. The fame, the grunge, the angst. And finally the Cobain suicide. Life goes on…

20130123-060340.jpg
Wonton Noodle Soup

I wanted to try and make homemade wontons. It didn’t look too difficult. So I was mentally preparing the list of ingredients in my head while I was at work. I figured I’d make the wontons the night before so that it would be faster and easier for me to prepare dinner the next day.

But Razin had other plans. As soon as he heard I was planning to make this the next day, he asked if I could make it that night. And me, being the wonderful mother I am (I’d like to think so. Haha!), simply couldn’t refuse his little request.

So it was a little rush to get the ingredients after work, picked up the little ones from daycare and back home to make the wontons.

The filling for them was simply minced chicken, ginger, spring onions, Chinese celery, soy sauce and sesame oil. They cooked quite fast in boiling water, less than 10 minutes. I made a clear broth with chicken stock cubes that I jazzed up with fresh onions, garlic and ginger.

The long and endless noodles were left that way, without cutting them. The Chinese believe noodles are a sign of longevity. I don’t believe it, I just love slurping the long springy strands off my bowl.

Huge success, kids loved it, everybody’s happy. Yes, I was a little tired and dinner was a little late. But who cares about all that, when I see their happy faces slurping away and asking for seconds.

-hazrock, monkey wrench

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Everlong

  1. omgsianz

    January 23, 2013 at 10:33 am

    “As soon as he heard I was planning to make this the next day, he asked if I could make it that night.” haha that made me go awwww.. so precious

     
    • hazrock

      January 23, 2013 at 10:39 am

      I know! 🙂 it’s easier if the kids make a request rather than say “anything lah” or “sembarang” when I asked what they want for dinner. And it’s hard to refuse a request.

       
      • omgsianz

        January 23, 2013 at 10:41 am

        haha on the other hand, my mom sometimes has to deal with too many requests! esp for the weekends.. i’m sure u encounter that too from time to time? haha

         
      • hazrock

        January 23, 2013 at 10:42 am

        Hahahha! Actually not so. Maybe when they are older. Lol

         

Comments are appreciated

 
