RSS

Stew-pid Girl

02 Dec

“You pretend you’re high
You pretend you’re bored
You pretend you’re anything
Just to be adored”

-Garbage (Song : Stupid Girl)

Only two words to describe Garbage : Shirley Manson.

Love a girl who rocks!

20121202-183012.jpg
Beef Stew On Rice

This is a dish perfect for a stay-home lazy Sunday. I woke up early, raring to go to the kitchen to cook this because it takes quite a while to slowly cook it over the stove and I want to have it ready for lunch.

20121202-194523.jpg
The base of a good stew, a beautiful Mirepoix

The cut of beef I used was a chuck tender, perfect for stewing. I never know how to cut beef. With the grain or against the grain? I don’t even know where the grain is! Oh well. In my kitchen, anything goes!

Just like any stew recipes, the beef was browned first to get it a little caramelized, which equals to tons of flavour. But unlike any stew recipes, I used beef stock in cubes instead of red wine to simmer the beef in.

And because I was in a lazy mood, I threw in potatoes into the stew instead of making mashed potatoes to eat alongside the stew. Then I served the stew with rice which was just cooked in the rice cooker.

A stay-home lazy Sunday? Nope! The kids had other plans. We were out the door as soon as the stew was cooked and came back a few hours later to a warm and homey meal.

-hazrock, only happy when it rains

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 2, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Stew-pid Girl

  1. Home Bakes

    December 3, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Beef stew on rice – makes me suddenly hungry.

     
    • hazrock

      December 3, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      Lol. Seems like I’m hungry too. Rainy outside, cold office. Makes me want a warm comforting bowl of stew. 🙂

       
      • Home Bakes

        December 3, 2012 at 7:18 pm

        it’s hot here too in the Philippines. but the photo made me want it. badly 🙂 Nice blog by the way!

         
      • hazrock

        December 4, 2012 at 7:49 am

        Thank you so much for stopping by!

         

Comments are appreciated

 
