RSS

Poundcake

27 Nov

“Homegrown and down-home, yeah that’s the one
Still cookin’ with that old time, long lost recipe”

-Van Halen (Song : Poundcake)

I was totally blown away the first time I saw Eddie Van Halen on TV, shredding his guitar with an electric drill. By “shredding” I don’t mean tearing it apart into pieces. That’s musician-speak for playing a solo on the guitar at a blistering break neck speed.
I think Sammy Hagar is the best singer for Van Halen. David Lee Roth is just too flamboyant for my liking. But I still think they are both cool.

20121127-202054.jpg
Pound Cake

Sometimes, I can’t believe how a recipe with a handful of ingredients and a few basic simple steps can produce something so delicious. This Pound Cake is a good example. Took about 10mins prep time and about 50mins to bake. And in the time it took to bake, I can do my other chores. When I’m done, so was the cake!

A basic cake like this is so versatile. The kids and I ate the cake as is with some raspberries and without any glaze or frosting. This cake can also be used in a trifle and I think it would be good crumbled up and made into cake pops as well. Or how about baking it in round tins and make into a layer cake? The possibilities are endless.

The cake that I baked cracked a little creating a central furrow. I’m not sure if it is supposed to be like that. Oh well, furrow or no furrow, everything will get eaten. So who cares!

-hazrock, right now I am eating this cake

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Poundcake

  1. luvnorcal

    November 28, 2012 at 5:29 am

    Oh I love pound cake!! yours looks very good, I am just yearning to eat some and put on some pounds 🙂

     
    • hazrock

      November 28, 2012 at 7:16 am

      Hahaha! Pound for pound! Good to see you Nimmie! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
