RSS

Pull Me Under

13 Nov

“The whole world keeps spinning around me
All life is future to past
Every breath leaves me one less to my last”

-Dream Theatre

Let’s face it. No matter what how hard I try, I will never fully understand the term “progressive rock”. And these progressive rock bands, their songs are really long and seem to go on forever. Forgive my short attention span. But these bands are often very technical in how they play. Respect!

20121113-110111.jpg
Barbecued Pulled Chicken Sandwich

What a great hearty sandwich! I guess this is a healthier, quicker and Muslim-friendly version of the classic Pulled Pork Sandwich, which takes all day to slow cook. This only takes about an hour, from prep to finish.

I used chicken leg and thighs. I kept the bone in because I think chicken bones give a lot of flavor. Then I pulled the meat off the bones after cooking. I have removed the skins because I want the seasonings to hit the meat. No point for me to season the skins which I eventually discarded and be left with under-seasoned chicken. I used cayenne pepper, paprika, Old Bay seasoning, garlic powder, salt and pepper for seasonings. Don’t ask me for the amounts, I just winged it.

I prepared a barbecue sauce the night before.

20121113-171144.jpg
And made Coleslaw in the morning.

20121113-171352.jpg
The pulled chicken simmering in the barbecue sauce.

20121113-171713.jpg
Finally mine!!

20121113-171949.jpg

-hazrock, images and words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Pull Me Under

  1. lesuperkikke

    November 13, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    oh :)!!! looks very good!

     
    • hazrock

      November 13, 2012 at 6:59 pm

      Yup they are. Thank you. And thanks for stopping by! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
