RSS

The First Cut Is The Deepest

10 Nov

“I would have given you all of my heart
But there’s someone who’s torn it apart
And he’s taken just all that I have
But if you want I’ll try to love again”

-Sheryl Crow

It took me quite some time, but I finally admit I love Sheryl Crow songs. There is one or two of her songs that I heard recently which really nailed down to what I was going through in life. Music is comfort and from what I’ve heard, soothes the savage beast as well.

20121110-202235.jpg
Lemon Bars

I love these! And so easy to make. These Lemon Bars are so good, 1 slice is not enough.

The base is a basic shortbread, baked first before the lemon custard was poured on top. Then back it goes into the oven again. When it came out, it was slightly puffy and it sort of deflated as it cooled.

The whole tray of baked shortbread and lemon custard needed to be completely cooled before it was cut. I’m rather impatient, so I stuck it in the fridge for about half an hour to speed up the process. I also heard that patience is a virtue and blah blah blah whatever. I wanted to eat one right away.

Once it was cooled, it was time to cut. The best way is to dip the knife into a large glass of hot water after each cut. A little time consuming, but worth it. The bars are perfectly and cleanly cut.

-hazrock, if it makes me happy, I’ll do it

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “The First Cut Is The Deepest

  1. thefearlessdiner

    November 11, 2012 at 12:43 am

    Where is your recipe? ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • hazrock

      November 11, 2012 at 7:19 am

      Google “Laura Vitale lemon bars”. Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. David

    November 12, 2012 at 1:27 am

    yummy stuff, Hazlin

     
    • hazrock

      November 12, 2012 at 6:01 am

      Yup. Very true David! Yummy and lemony.

       

Comments are appreciated

 
