RSS

Sweet Leaf

21 Oct

The one Ozzy Osbourne song that will forever be etched in my memory is the one he sang with Lita Ford, Close My Eyes Forever. It brings back so much memories of my secondary school days when it seemed like I was the only one among my friends who were into all these “satanic” heavy metal songs. Please! Satanic? I turned out fine, and still deeply rooted to my religion. No devil worshipping here!

I see music as purely entertainment. Sure, I’ve listened to some music that would be “bad influence” to teenagers when I was a teenager. I tried to keep an open mind, to know right from wrong and to not take whatever I listen to seriously.

20121021-210226.jpg
“Nasi Lemak” from Makan Bagus at Tampines Round Market

I can’t believe I have not written about one of Singapore’s quintessential dishes. Nasi Lemak, a Malay dish well-loved by all. Traditionally eaten at breakfast, but now we eat it at all hours of the day.

It consists of rice cooked in coconut milk, which gives it a rich flavour and thus its name (“lemak” meaning rich in flavour in Malay). Pandan (screwpine) leaves are tied together into a knot and added to the rice while cooking, to add a nice fragrance. The rice is eaten with a spicy sambal (chili sauce), slices of cucumber, fried anchovies, fried egg and a fried chicken wing. Yes, all that equals to a lot of fat and cholesterol. I never said this is a diet food anyway.

When I was a kid, Nasi Lemak was sold already pre-packed in a sort of wax paper or sometimes old newspaper and banana leaf. You can still find people selling it this way, but I think most of us would like to eat it on a plate like the photo above.

20121021-210619.jpg
Packets of wrapped Nasi Lemak. Photo grabbed from Google Search.

The banana leaf, along with the pandan leaves added when cooking, makes the rice so aromatic. The packets are rather small, so in it would only be a small portion of rice, sambal, 1 slice of cucumber, a small piece of omelet and either fried anchovies or fried small fish. No chicken wings! I guess if you are really hungry, you can eat 2 of those.

-hazrock, crazy train

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Sweet Leaf

  1. ~Lady Day

    October 21, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    I never know if I should comment on the music or the food. You gotta upgrade so you can add the music while we read. Lol.
    This dish..I am so trying this. I already make this style of rice…love adding coconut milk to almost anything. But the rest, I’ve never tried. Yay! Thanks for this so much.

     
    • hazrock

      October 21, 2012 at 10:04 pm

      Upgrade?? But then I have to pay! And I’m cheap!! Lol
      Noooo… Thank you! For dropping by to read my ramblings. 🙂

       
      • ~Lady Day

        October 21, 2012 at 10:10 pm

        Ah. I understand cheap. I finally caved, but it was because I loved so many times that others shared and then I didn’t have to go find it, cause I’m lazy like that.
        But…you could attach the link, have it open in a second window. Then we get your soundtrack while we read.
        That would be cool.
        Just love to hear what was playing inside people’s minds while they live.

         

Comments are appreciated

 
