RSS

Jailhouse Rock

20 Oct

“You ain’t never caught a rabbit
And you ain’t no friend of mine”

-Elvis Presley

20121020-173131.jpg
Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

The King’s favourite! I’d never thought of putting bananas in a sandwich. For the longest time, I have been wanting to make this. Don’t know what’s stopping me.

I had this for a Saturday lunch. White bread spread with some smooth peanut butter. I used banana slices although some recipes used mashed bananas. That would be good as well, I think. Topped it with another slice of bread and I toasted it on a frying pan with a little bit of butter for flavour. Cut it in half on the diagonal and serve! Are you lonesome tonight? Not anymore. Yum!

From what I’ve read, Elvis could eat about 15 of these sandwiches. And he added bacon and honey in it too. Yikes! I wouldn’t go that far.

-hazrock, has left the building

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Jailhouse Rock

  1. yourothermotherhere

    October 20, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    Try slicing bananas into a bowl, pour on milk and sprinkle with brown sugar. Yum!

     
    • hazrock

      October 20, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      Now that’s an idea! Thank you!!

       
  2. David

    October 20, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Since I’m a little boy these are a big favorite. I’ve never had them toasted though. Soooo yummy:)

     
    • hazrock

      October 20, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      Thank you david. Yes. They are yumm!!!

       
  3. whenlifeisgood

    October 20, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    I used to eat these when I was little. Wonder bread, a thin layer of mayo, crunchy peanut butter, and banana slices, Yummy!

     
    • hazrock

      October 20, 2012 at 11:00 pm

      Ohh mayo huh? Now that would add another dimension to the flavour. Interesting.
      And thanks for stopping by! 🙂

       
      • whenlifeisgood

        October 20, 2012 at 11:03 pm

        You are very welcome. 🙂

         
  4. My Food Trolley

    October 21, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    WOW!! this is my all time fav…I also add cheese to it…..:)

     
    • hazrock

      October 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm

      Thank you! Ohhh cheese! Yum and Yummm. 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
