RSS

I Am A Viking

19 Oct

“I am a Viking in going out to war
And I’ve got death upon my mind
As I was leavin’ oh yesterday
I’ve got no fear in my heart”

-Malmsteen

Ahh the Swedish guitar god, Yngwie J Malmsteen. I can’t believe I once lined up for hours with a girlfriend at the now defunct Tower Records here to shake his hand and get his autograph. I don’t even know where that piece of paper is right now! Lol. I was young and let’s all admit, we all did silly stuff when we were young. I still do sometimes. Heh!

20121019-222800.jpg
Swedish Meatballs with Potatoes and Lingonberry Jam at IKEA Restaurant and Cafe

When IKEA, the Scandinavian furniture store, first came to Singapore, probably in the late 80s, I have been dying to try the Swedish Meatballs they serve at their restaurant. The problem is, theirs contain beef and pork, and I don’t eat pork because of my religious obligations.

And when they opened their 2nd store in 2006, the restaurant boasts 2 separate kitchens. One with the usual fare served at the other store and another is Halal-certified, serving food consumable by Muslims. And they have their famous Swedish Meatballs as well, with beef and chicken in them. Hurray!

One thing that I found weird is that the meatballs are served with a brown gravy and lingonberry jam. Meatballs with jam? Hmm sounds a little too funky. But I tried it anyway. It tastes AWESOME! I can’t believe it. So yum!

I sat near a small children’s play area, a table right around it and high stools for us parents to sit. The kids had a little fun while they eat. Why not?

20121019-224518.jpg
Always hamming it up for the camera! Lol.

-hazrock, far beyond the sun

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “I Am A Viking

  1. ~Lady Day

    October 20, 2012 at 12:20 am

    I find it oddly disturbing, that I can go to your side of the planet and eat the exact same meal as at the ikea in my country. Call me crazy, but that’s just weird. So really. The wall map in my do dining room you too can buy. Do weird. If I came to Singapore. Trust me. The last place I would go is ikea. Lol. This was just so interesting to read. Thank you.

     
    • hazrock

      October 20, 2012 at 12:28 am

      Noooooo! You can’t come here and go to IKEA! I believe that if I’m in a foreign country, I go to places and eat the food that are uniquely them. I won’t go to a McDonald’s in say, Malaysia, because we have tons of that here. So please, check out the local scenes and more importantly try out local cuisines! Don’t come here and eat at Wendy’s. you will not be forgiven! Lol

       
      • ~Lady Day

        October 20, 2012 at 12:37 am

        Oh trust me. I wouldn’t. My uncle was in Singapore a couple months ago, along with several other Asian countries. He loved it there. English enough to get by, but still so great to explore. His shots he brought back, lovely. Yeah. I agree. No desire to go to the familiar places if I ever travel.its just so weird that all those companies have globalized like that. It kind of creeps me out. I just didn’t think of ikea as being there too. It really is odd to imagine. Lol. Though. I guess the Swedes think that when they come here and see ikea stores. Anyway. Have a great day.

         
  2. ~Lady Day

    October 20, 2012 at 12:22 am

    By the way, my auto correct makes more mistakes than it should. Lol. Reread that after I hit submit comment. Lol. Sorry. You catch my drift.

     
    • hazrock

      October 20, 2012 at 12:28 am

      Oh that sounds like me. Always publishing before proofreading!

       
  3. sybaritica

    October 20, 2012 at 2:56 am

    I like the idea of the lingonberry jam with the meatballs … maybe cranberry jelly would be a good substitute?

     
    • hazrock

      October 20, 2012 at 7:03 am

      Yeah cranberry will do I guess. I’m sure lingonberry jam is not readily available everywhere. 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
