RSS

Champagne Supernova

14 Oct

I think I must have played that Oasis CD, (What’s The Story) Morning Glory, to death. Yes, I love it that much. Those pompous Brothers Gallagher. Brassy attitude, erratic behavior. Typical rockstars.

20121014-171049.jpg
A Muslim and kid friendly Apple-Strawberry Sangria

I just love the word Sangria! I don’t know, it just sounds so exotic and I’ve never heard of it until recently. Then I found out that it is a wine punch with chopped fruits. Because of my religious obligations, I don’t drink anything with alcohol in it and I don’t cook with it either. And the hurray of hurrays came when I read that I can make a non-alcoholic Sangria using fruit juice!

To make this started simply enough with a pitcher of ice. I added some chopped apples and frozen strawberries (leftover fresh strawberries that I put in the freezer for later use). Then came lemon slices and a little bit of lemon juice. I had bought some apple juice which I poured over. Since the apple juice was sweet enough, I didn’t add any honey or sugar syrup. And to make it look pretty, I added some mint.

Ideally, this should be left in the fridge or the flavours to develop. I only have it in there for half hour and we drank it with our weekend lunch. To serve, I pour into glasses along with some of the fruit pieces and then topped with 7-Up. I love this! And the next day, I still had some leftover. It tasted even better, very much fruitier than before.

The kids loved it as well.

-hazrock, after all you’re my wonderwall

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Champagne Supernova

  1. David

    October 14, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Love the song and the drink looks incredible…

     
    • hazrock

      October 14, 2012 at 10:54 pm

      Thanks David! It’s cool and fruity! Yum

       
      • David

        October 15, 2012 at 1:33 am

        putting it on my list of things to make

         
      • hazrock

        October 15, 2012 at 8:03 am

        When you suddenly have a desire to cook, the list is endless! 🙂

         

Comments are appreciated

 
