RSS

Mamma Mia!

04 Oct

20121004-212123.jpg
Linguini Alla Carbonara

I think I’ve had Spaghetti Carbonara once a few years ago, at a restaurant whose name I will not mention. I remembered that it was tasteless, and the spaghetti was drenched in a creamy sauce. It didn’t look appealing as well.

All this time, I have always thought the carbonara sauce is a cream-based one. After reading and watching videos of it, finally! A revelation! Carbonara is a sauce made with raw eggs, parmigiano reggiano and a touch of cream. At first I thought, raw eggs? Eeuuuww! Why would I want to eat that? But it seemed, from the cooking videos I watched, the eggs actually get cooked a little from the hot pasta and it meld together with the cheese and cream to make a luscious sauce.

Ok I have got to try that! Traditionally, bacon or Italian pancetta is used. And since I don’t eat bacon or any meat products from pigs, I used chicken ham instead.
There’s a few key points to note. Work quickly, the heat under the pan must be off or you could potentially scramble the eggs and also add some cooking water from the pasta to help the sauce emulsify.

I think I did quite good for a first timer. The eggs got a little scrambled but it was okay. A nice home-cooked dinner for me and the kids. The tiredness of coming home from work seemed to fade as I watched them eating everything off their plates.

-hazrock, ok now I’m tired. Zzz

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Mamma Mia!

  1. omgsianz

    October 4, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    that looks sooooo good and it makes so much more sense for this dish to be this way, i too thought it was supposed to be drenched and soaked in that thick sauce.. and i think i know which restaurant you are talking about hehe :p

     
    • hazrock

      October 4, 2012 at 10:49 pm

      Well don’t say it! Lol

       
  2. David

    October 4, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    Homecook meals are the best!!!! Looks wonderful!

     
    • hazrock

      October 4, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      Even those that are frantically cooked after a long day at work. Thanks davie. πŸ™‚

       
  3. luvnorcal

    October 5, 2012 at 12:52 am

    Completely agree about home cooked meals! I made (yet another) stir fry last night with brown rice, it felt good to eat something where I had total control of all the ingredients going into the dish. My fam commented that eating the kale made them feel like cows chewing on grass. Lol, I like my kale underdone with a nice bite to it but they don’t agree. Anyway love your dish, looks wholesome and yummy, I’m sure my brother would gobble it down! Link to the recipe you used?

     
    • hazrock

      October 5, 2012 at 7:20 am

      Thanks!! Google “Laura Vitale carbonara”. She’s from Naples, Italy and this is how they do it. So I guess this is as authentic as you can get. πŸ™‚

       

Comments are appreciated

 
