RSS

Freak On A Leash

02 Oct

Metalheads! This is not a post about Korn, the band. I’m just borrowing the title of one of their songs. Don’t mind me!

20121002-201907.jpg
A simmering pot of Sweet Corn Chowder

If you read my earlier post Corn Corny Cornier Corniest, there is no doubt that I am a huge fan of corn, the vegetable. I always feel uplifted seeing its golden yellow kernels, not to mention how sweet it tastes.

This Sweet Corn Chowder is really simple to make. Onions and garlic are sautéed in olive oil. I used frozen corn kernels, but you can use whatever you have, canned or fresh corn that you have to shuck yourself. Hey, if you have the time, more power to you! I just don’t feel like shucking anything today. Hmmm that word “shuck” sounds so dirty. Anyway… back to the chowder.
Then add chicken or vegetable stock, bay leaf and season with salt and pepper. When the corn is almost tender, stir in some fresh thyme.

When the chowder is ready, blend it with an immersion blender right in the pot. I like to bite into pieces of corn so I didn’t blend until smooth.

And finally, serve in a bowl and topped with some tortilla chips warmed in the oven with some grated cheddar.

20121002-210414.jpg
The tortilla chips provide a great texture to the chowder because some of them get soggy while some stay crisp. I used a mild cheddar. Had I used a sharp cheddar (the one that can burn the roof of your mouth), it will add another delicious dimension to the final taste.

-hazrock, something takes a part of me. *headbanging*

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Freak On A Leash

  1. David

    October 2, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    This truly looks good and not too hard to make. I’m cooking imspired lately:)

     
    • hazrock

      October 3, 2012 at 11:04 am

      Thanks David! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
