RSS

I’m Bringing Hasselback

01 Oct

20121001-200315.jpg
Hasselback Potato

I wished it was me who came up with the title of this post. It’s so clever and amusing. Plus, I once had sort of a crush on Justin Timberlake. Don’t ask!

I got the idea to bake a Hasselback Potato and the title of this post, from a YouTube video by Average Betty, which I recommend that all of you go check it out. I love her videos which she described as “SNL meets Food Network”. Comedy and food? OF COURSE I’M IN LOVE!

In the video, Average Betty said, “When people find out you can cut a potato like this, you will become an instant rock star, enemies will become friends, kids will think you’re cool and your in laws will finally accept you.” Well, my in laws are wonderful, kids like me and I don’t think I have enemies. I’m not a rock star, but I’m definitely a wannabe. SOLD! I’m making this!

I used a locally grown potato, not the Russet Idaho which was recommended. The potato is not a “baking” kind, so I guess it didn’t get as tender and creamy as what I saw on the video. Olive oil infused with garlic and a few precious threads of saffron was drizzled over the top, a little salt and parsley. Oh my! I don’t even care if you say “po-tay-to” or “po-tah-to”. Yum! And the potato skin became a little crispy as well.

-hazrock, when I grow up I want to be just like Average Betty

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I’m Bringing Hasselback

  1. David

    October 1, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    That’s truly a great idea! I’m making potatoes tonight, but they’re too small for this. Looks so good!

     
    • hazrock

      October 1, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      I’m going to do this again with Russet. Hopefully a better result! πŸ™‚

       
  2. ~Lady Day

    October 1, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    When I saw this pop up I was so happy..my dad did these, and now everyone in our family makesthem..with onion slices wedged in the slits of the potato, and shhh, butter instead of olive oil. Sooo not healthy, but so good. I am so trying them with the olive oil and garlic next time. For sure healthier.Thanks for sharing!

     
    • hazrock

      October 2, 2012 at 9:13 am

      Onions would be a great idea! Ohh well, a little bit of butter won’t hurt, but the flavour would be awesome. Don’t worry, your secret is safe with me. πŸ™‚

       
      • ~Lady Day

        October 2, 2012 at 9:19 am

        My favourite thing about your blog…simple, easy (usually) and good…this…soooo necessary. Thank you for that. Some food blogs, as amazing as everything is, is so complex and time consuming. I feel at home here with the down to earth realistic feel, that is a helpful thing in real home food ideas.

         
      • hazrock

        October 2, 2012 at 9:22 am

        Thank you Lady Day, for always stopping by. I love simple non-complicated things, which is why the blog is this way. πŸ™‚

         

Comments are appreciated

 
