RSS

Strawberry Dreams

29 Sep

20120929-192842.jpg
Strawberry Cake

A spot of Saturday afternoon baking. It was a hectic morning : errands, sending kids to religious class, dropping by my parents’ for a bit. And when I reached home, I thought I rest for a bit before I bake. But turned out, I was so excited about baking this that I didn’t need any rest at all. A renewed energy for doing something I love, and the fact that I get to take beautiful pictures of food.

This is actually a simple recipe. Vanilla cake scented with orange zest as the base. The cake got filled with strawberry preserves, fresh strawberries, and store-bought whipped topping. A final dusting of confectioner’s sugar and a couple of fresh strawberries finished it off.

The cake had cracks on top. I’m not sure what went wrong. Oven temperature too high? Or too low? Fridge-cold eggs? Who knows! Anyway, before I lost it and get a crack, I will not be too bothered about it.

20120929-201647.jpg
Time for a slice. Or two. Or three. Ok let’s not get carried away.

-hazrock, has got to learn portion control

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Strawberry Dreams

  1. David

    September 29, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    That’s a dream desert to me! Mmmmmmm

     
    • hazrock

      September 29, 2012 at 8:33 pm

      Sweet dreams are made of these. Haha!

       
  2. omgsianz

    September 29, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    that looks soooo good i’m sure annie lennox would approve haha anyway i think cracks are a sign of character in a cake hehe who wants a cake without personality!?

     
    • hazrock

      September 29, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      I’m sure Miss Lennox is smiling. Haha. Ok I’m going with that character and personality thing you mentioned. Thank you! Lol

       
  3. AJG

    September 29, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Great looking cake!

     
    • hazrock

      September 29, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      Thank you! And thanks for stopping by! 🙂

       
  4. yourothermotherhere

    September 30, 2012 at 8:40 am

    How I wish I had it right now! Yum!

     
    • hazrock

      September 30, 2012 at 8:43 am

      Hehe! Thank you for your comment. And for stopping by. 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
