RSS

Sweet Surrender

28 Sep

20120927-211841.jpg
Homemade Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Pita Chips

I love blended soups! So far, I’ve made Red Lentil Soup and Pea and Mozzarella Soup. Today I’m trying a Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup.

I was a little disappointed when I dropped by the supermarket today. The only sweet potatoes they had were the yellow ones, and not orange ones I was looking for. But I still wanted to make the soup. Oh woe is me! This is the saddest day of my life!

Oh well, my kitchen won’t explode if I use the wrong sweet potato, am I right? No need for all the drama.

After going through a few recipes on the Internet, I finally went ahead and made the soup anyway. Onions, garlic, carrot and sweet potatoes, flavoured with chicken stock and a touch of ground cumin and coriander. None of the recipes I found added spices. It was that smartass hazrock who put it in!

After the veggies are tender, and with the aid of an immersion blender (whoa! a very technical term!), blended the soup right in the pot. The soup turned out a little watery so I added a little bit of cream.

I didn’t get a bright orange soup as what I had envisioned, but still it was delicious! And I guess spices I added gave it sort of a “cloudy” look. And I served it with Pita Chips, which were just soft tortillas cut into triangles, brushed with a little olive oil and toasted the the oven for a few minutes.

-hazrock, sweet child o’mine

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Sweet Surrender

  1. David

    September 28, 2012 at 8:25 am

    I love how you take recipes and add to them 🙂

     
    • hazrock

      September 28, 2012 at 8:29 am

      Aww.. Thank you! Sometimes it’s creativity. Other times its just trying to be clever. Lol!

       
  2. luvnorcal

    September 28, 2012 at 9:14 am

    This looks yummy! I’ve never tried making a soup but should for sure. (I always say things like this but am never sure if I will eventually make it happen.) And I love that new photo of you! 🙂

     
    • hazrock

      September 28, 2012 at 9:18 am

      Thank you Nimmie! Always a pleasure when you drop by! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
