RSS

Dude, Where’s My Bike?

27 Sep

20120927-123530.jpg
Rice and Beef Soup with carrots, potatoes and mushrooms

That is one of those foods I grew up eating. Rice flooded with Beef Soup and sweet soy sauce drizzled over. Of course, in adulthood, the sauce will be spiked a little with spicy cili padi (bird’s eye chili).

This dish is warm, comforting and reminds me of carefree childhood days. I was the first grandchild of my late maternal grandparents. And with a lot of aunts and uncles, it was kind of a big deal when I was born.

I remembered during my heyday, my parents bought me a bicycle. I loved that two-wheeler (with training wheels) so much that I rode it all the time. I remembered once when it was time for me to have lunch, and I was still riding that bike. My aunt, who took care of me while my parents went to work, brought a bowl of the above dish and fed me in the front yard, while another aunt pushed me along on the bike. Such sweet memories.

The other time, I made this soup with mutton and served it with fusilli.

20120927-124821.jpg
It wasn’t that bad. I still prefer the soup with rice. It makes me feel like a kid again. Yeay!

-hazrock, kid diva

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Dude, Where’s My Bike?

  1. Nafees

    September 27, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    mmmmmmmmmm

     
    • hazrock

      September 27, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

       
      • Nafees

        September 27, 2012 at 1:10 pm

        welcome and thank you too for making my eyes feel better a lot πŸ˜€

         
      • hazrock

        September 27, 2012 at 1:11 pm

        Haha! You are most welcome! πŸ™‚

         
      • Nafees

        September 27, 2012 at 1:16 pm

        my pleasure πŸ˜€

         
  2. Gabriel | εŠ η™Ύεˆ©

    September 27, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    hahaha ! i still remember the movie ! so, so funnt! great share :–)

     
    • hazrock

      September 27, 2012 at 1:24 pm

      Honestly I didn’t watch it. Probably because I can’t stand Ashton Kutcher. Haha. Thank you for stopping by, Gabriel!

       
  3. ~Lady Day

    September 27, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    Darn it…I’m fighting off sore throat/cold…:( Now I want your soup…looks awesome, and darn it…technology still can’t send me your food!

     
    • hazrock

      September 27, 2012 at 9:18 pm

      The last time I checked, nope! Still a no-go for teleportation of food. Hehehe. Hope you feel better soon! Those bad throats can get quite nasty. Take care!

       
      • ~Lady Day

        September 27, 2012 at 9:22 pm

        hehe…you make me smile…that’ll do for now. Thanks. Have a great day.

         
      • hazrock

        September 27, 2012 at 9:40 pm

        It’s evening where I am. It is you who should have a great day. Thanks for always dropping by! πŸ™‚

         
      • ~Lady Day

        September 27, 2012 at 9:57 pm

        I figured, but wasn’t sure how late…either way, have a great sleep/day. Always a pleasure stopping by, you make me humourously hungry.

         
  4. David

    October 2, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    This really brought a smile to my face:))) Good memories really are the best

     
    • hazrock

      October 2, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      They are. Thanks davie. πŸ™‚

       

Comments are appreciated

 
