RSS

I’m A Creep, I’m A Weirdo

20 Sep

20120920-211227.jpg
Blue Velvet Cupcake

I guess for most of you, your response to the photo above was, “What the (insert expletive)???” Don’t worry. That is a valid reaction.

The cupcake, however, raises a few eyebrows and left those who saw it with questions. Have I totally lost it? Do I live in a nuclear reactor that periodically turn my food and everything I have blue? Or am I trying to stand out from the endless crowd of boring red velvet cupcakes and come up with a controversial blue one?

Ok here is the story behind all this weirdness. The last time I made red velvet cupcakes, 11-year-old son, Razin, asked, why can’t you make them blue? Well, my son, it is called a “red velvet cupcake”. Duh! And he asked again, can you make them blue the next time? Well that’s a crazy idea! But I will not! End of story.

Then yesterday, I was listening to an interview on the radio about childcare. One of the things I picked up from that was, play with your children. And explore their imagination. If they draw a tree and color it purple, it’s ok. Use that to engage them in a conversation and make up stories and ask them why the tree is purple. The most important thing is NOT to kill their imagination. I thought this is brilliant!

Ok kids. You want blue cupcakes? Lets go blue!
20120920-212945.jpg
I used a blue food coloring. I don’t know why it turned green. More weirdness! I baked a batch of the cupcakes, but only made 2 of them blue. Just in case it turned out totally gross, I don’t have to waste everything.

20120920-213158.jpg
Well that was a huge hit with the kids. They thought the blue cupcakes were cool. And I scored some major “cool mum” points. I think.

-hazrock, stranger than fiction

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I’m A Creep, I’m A Weirdo

  1. Handmade or the Highway

    September 21, 2012 at 12:28 am

    This is what happened to me too! It’s apparently the cocoa in the batter thats a yellowy type colour (its brown I know) but that’s what happens all the time. I made 5 batches of ‘blue’ red velvet cake last week with varying amounts of blue dye and all I got was various shades of green cakes! Good luck next batch though, they look yummy!

     
    • hazrock

      September 21, 2012 at 6:28 am

      Ohhh I’m glad I’m not the only one getting green cakes! But i must admit, it does look a little scary, almost toxic. Lol! Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

       
  2. momkeepinitreal

    September 21, 2012 at 12:35 am

    As parents we are so conditioned to train our kids to color inside of the lines. It’s refreshing to hear that you followed your child’s cues and just went for it. Definitely a memorable mommy moment!

     
    • hazrock

      September 21, 2012 at 6:30 am

      Thank you! And yes, you are right about the coloring inside the lines. Once a while, they colored outside the lines, hey, it’s not the end of the world! πŸ™‚ and thanks for stopping by!

       
  3. some stolen moments

    September 22, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    How wonderful that you heard that interview and remembered your son’s wish for “Blue” red velvet cakes. You showed him that you “heard” him and that it is OK to be unique. Wonderful Mommy moment.

     
    • hazrock

      September 22, 2012 at 9:30 pm

      Aww thank you for your comments. Yes it would be a sad thing if the kids feel they can’t express themselves. I hope we parents can learn a thing or two from this post. And thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

       

Comments are appreciated

 
