RSS

Decadence Dance

12 Sep

20120912-074404.jpg
Lovers’ Chocolate Mousse

Why am I making Lovers’ Chocolate Mousse in September? It’s not Valentine’s Day. My answer to that is, “Yeah? So?” And who needs Valentine’s Day to indulge in chocolate? I certainly don’t.

I must say, making Chocolate Mousse the right way is a little complicated. I tried cheating once and made an “express” chocolate mousse by just melting marshmallows with chocolate and butter, and then adding the whipped cream. No need to separate eggs or allow to set for 6 hours. It’s delicious, no doubt. But I feel I need to be a little more daring.

I separated the egg yolks and egg whites, double-boiled the chocolate, added the yolks and cooked them with the chocolate, whipped the cream and beat the egg whites in separate bowls until both had stiff peaks. And finally, combining all the 3 elements (chocolate and yolks, cream and egg whites) into one glorious chocolate mousse. Whew! That’s a lot of elbow grease to whip up those. But we’re not done. Put in individual cups and let it set in the fridge overnight. The wait is agonizing!

And to serve, I opted for a light sprinkling of confectioner’s sugar and garnished with a strawberry.

Nothing says decadence like Chocolate Mousse. And this one has the reputation of being “whoever you made this for will fall madly in love with you”. I think I have fallen in love with myself. I think I’ll go and buy myself a bouquet of flowers.

-hazrock, deca-dancing

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Decadence Dance

  1. David

    September 12, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Mmmmmm. I’m not a choco fan but I love a good moose. Errrrr mousse lol. Looks yummy:)

     
    • hazrock

      September 12, 2012 at 8:18 am

      Thank you! Chocolate Moose would not be very pleasant, I reckon.

       

Comments are appreciated

 
