RSS

Strong Like Popeye

05 Sep

20120905-071808.jpg
Spinach Soup served with Fried Fish and Rice

One of the few vegetables my son, Razin, would eat is spinach. I like to make this for our meals so that at least, he is getting some greens into his system. And a simple soup like this took no time at all. I used anchovy stock cubes for the soup and added some garlic and ginger for extra flavor. Carrots, tofu skins, crabsticks and cellophane noodles are thrown in. When they are almost cooked, the spinach just need to wilt in the soup. And we are ready to eat! Served with steaming hot rice and a piece of fried fish marinated in turmeric and salt. Food for champions for my little champion!

20120905-071827.jpg
Sometimes I changed the ingredients but i kept the soup pretty much the same. Another variation I made used shrimps, silken tofu and sweet potatoes. Still went down well.

Popeye would be proud!

-hazrock, skinny like Olive Oyl (I wish!)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Strong Like Popeye

  1. ~Lady Day

    September 5, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    Soooo badly want this now…my kiddos love spinach too! Soup, pizza, and actually salad…ALL the time…serious…now I would love some soup…and I’m not in my own kitchen…hm, I’ll have to see what I can do about this…catching up on your site…made me flippin’ hungry!

     
    • hazrock

      September 6, 2012 at 6:07 am

      Well go flip something. Burgers or pancakes! Lol!!

       

Comments are appreciated

 
