RSS

Because Mom Said So

04 Sep

20120903-211609.jpg
Ribena in glass bottles and packs from the 80s. Picture grabbed from Google Search.

Ribena, the blackcurrant-flavoured juice concentrate, and I go way back. I faintly remembered when I was little (3 or 4 years old) drinking Ribena from my milk bottle in the afternoon. When in primary school, I would sometimes fill my water bottle with Ribena to drink during recess.
Even when I was studying at Singapore Polytechnic, I would, once a while, bring a small bottle of homemade Ribena tucked in my backpack. I remembered a classmate who teased me when he saw my Ribena because a lot of us would associate Ribena as something we drink during childhood and there I was, in my late teens, still drinking Ribena. It’s delicious! Who cares! And he would say, “Mother said this is good. Must drink!”
That line was from that really old 80s Ribena commercial with 2 school kids sitting under a tree at recess and one of them was drinking Ribena. Their dialog translated from Malay :
Kid 1 : What are you drinking?
Kid 2 : Ribena. My mother said its good for me. *blah blah blah about the goodness of it*
QKid 1 : Can I have some?
Kid 2 : Yes, but just a little bit.
And they both drink, and laugh happily.
Wow! I still remember that commercial after all these years.

20120904-073145.jpg
Recently, Ribena was given a facelift. New plastic bottles, new look, and new flavors. Lemon, blueberry, less sugar, carbonated and this one is strawberry. I don’t know if I like the new flavors. I still prefer the original. I’m an oldie! Lol.

20120904-073700.jpg
Homemade Ribena Popsicles
A great way to drink Ribena on a hot day! So refreshing!

-hazrock, forever young

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Because Mom Said So

  1. omgsianz

    September 4, 2012 at 9:03 am

    lol i like the new strawberry one! and yes you have a fellow ribena lover here lol

     
    • hazrock

      September 4, 2012 at 9:05 am

      I don’t know if you remember the commercial. Mintak sikit? Boleh. Sikit saja tau! Ehehhe so cute!!

       
      • omgsianz

        September 4, 2012 at 9:10 am

        haha sadly i don’t 😦 but i didn’t watch much tv as a kid i guess lol sad ah :p

         
      • hazrock

        September 4, 2012 at 9:31 am

        How ironic. You’re doing tv show reviews on your blog! Haha

         
      • omgsianz

        September 4, 2012 at 9:36 am

        hahaha yah lor classic case of over-compensation for lost childhood! :p

         

Comments are appreciated

 
