RSS

Double Trouble

28 Aug

As mentioned in a earlier post (Show chocolate who’s boss), I was afraid to melt chocolate by double-boiling because I had a bad experience (once again, DON’T ASK). Today, after watching countless videos over and over again on the subject, I decided to overcome my fears. Yes, my friends. I am going to attempt to…. DOUBLE BOIL!! *suspense sound effect*

Ok here goes. I’m using a 200g block of chocolate which I chopped into small pieces so they melt easier. Into a heat-proof bowl and over a pot of water. The simmering water in the pot should not, by any means, touch the bottom of the bowl. So I’m told.

20120828-120232.jpg
So far, so good. Using my half-moon whisk, I gently stirred the chocolate until it started to melt.

20120828-120338.jpg
Looking good already.

20120828-120409.jpg
And finally there it is. Gorgeous, gleaming and delectably melted. Took it off the heat while there were still a few bits of chocolate left to go, which I just whisked into the rest of them. One thing we don’t want to do is to scorch and burn the chocolate.

Phew! That wasn’t so bad. Hey! I might even do it again.

-hazrock, still the boss

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Double Trouble

  1. of-the-essence blog

    August 29, 2012 at 2:40 am

    I had great fears when trying again to make flan (Mexican custard) after overcooking the syrup one time. And I had success, just like you! Mmm, time for strawberries to dip in that chocolate–or perhaps pour it over sponge cake.

     
    • hazrock

      August 29, 2012 at 6:15 am

      Ohhh flans look a little intimidating to me. I have never tried making it. Hmm I don’t think I have eaten it too. Sugars can be a little tricky, so I have been avoiding that as well. 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
