RSS

A Walking Contradiction

18 Aug

There is no doubt I love to bake. It might surprise some folks that I do not own a standing mixer and a proper oven but somehow I managed. It’s all about interest and passion. Sometimes, you just have to make do with whatever you have. No point having all the fancy professional equipment, and just letting it sit on the kitchen counter, collecting dust.

Having said that, I am now about to contradict myself. I love the Kitchenaid mixer (earlier post : Inspector (Kitchen) Gadget). It just looks so beautiful. Even if I don’t bake at all and have money to burn, I would like to have this as an accessory and letting it sitting pristinely on my designer kitchen countertop. The dream is still alive.

20120818-064555.jpg

Yesterday, I finally got a mixer! Well, not a Kitchenaid anyway. It’s my mom’s old Kenwood Chef. This thing must be more than 20 years old! Wow! And all the attachments (whisk, K-beater and dough hook) still in excellent condition.

20120818-064848.jpg
The Kenwood Chef, circa 1989. Hoping to test this out soon!

-hazrock, extreme free shopping should be a sport

 
13 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “A Walking Contradiction

  1. ~Lady Day

    August 18, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Well. Baking over cooking is my thing too. And I don’t have a mixer either. And my husband sells cooking equipment for restaurants. Lol. Ah the irony. I was just telling him about this and he says Kenwood is better than Kitchenaid. 🙂 so there you go.

     
    • hazrock

      August 18, 2012 at 7:17 am

      Yup I agree. Kenwood is definitely better. But the Kitchenaid is pretty! Beauty over function? Geez, I must have sounded like a total kitchen vain pot. 🙂

       
  2. ~Lady Day

    August 18, 2012 at 7:24 am

    Oh I agree. I am a sucker for the red one for sure. But I have a little kitchen circa 1976. Very little storage space so, I use my steel bowls and wooden spoons or handheld mixer. Whatever. But ya. A pretty red one would make my year. 🙂 ❤

     
    • hazrock

      August 18, 2012 at 7:39 am

      The red is nice. But I would probably go for the black or gun metal. No crazy colors for me! Haha

       
      • ~Lady Day

        August 18, 2012 at 10:23 am

        well really here a while back they had navy, that one was cool too, anything but white for me…no white. 🙂 I’m all colours or black. Hate white anything. It totally prejudice that way..lol.

         
      • ~Lady Day

        August 18, 2012 at 10:24 am

        oh! ‘cept people! of course. 🙂

         
  3. peachyteachy

    August 18, 2012 at 7:57 am

    So, will you proudly display the Kenwood (are there stereo speakers built into that baby?) or will you, I don’t know, knit a stand mixer cozy for it?

     
    • hazrock

      August 18, 2012 at 8:58 am

      Ohhh I’ve tried knitting. I hopeless at it!! I have too much stuff on my countertop at this moment. The Kenwood is now sitting on my kitchen floor. Lol!
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

       
  4. omgsianz

    August 18, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    haha my mom uses her trusty kenwood too!!! and yeah wow the kitchenaid ones are really pretty 😮

     
    • hazrock

      August 18, 2012 at 2:11 pm

      Yup yup. Kenwood is reliable. Kitchenaids are objects of desire! Lol. Btw. Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to you!

       
      • omgsianz

        August 18, 2012 at 2:14 pm

        selamat hari raya to you toooo!!!!! 😀

         
  5. luvnorcal

    August 19, 2012 at 11:22 am

    I have one at my house, it’s my mom’s, a red Kitchenaid. It’s handy for my blueberry muffins and cookie recipes. I do like it’s shiny exterior. But yes, quite expensive!!

     
    • hazrock

      August 19, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      Beauty is expensive! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
