RSS

Crease Lightning

16 Aug

I did a post earlier on how much I love the japanese art of paper folding or origami : Intricacies Of Origami. Please check it out. There are some photos of origami models which I have attempted to fold.

I love modular origami, certain number of papers folded exactly the same way and piece together to make a complete model. Like the Bascetta Star or Floral Kusudama in my earlier post. Yes, these used up a lot of paper. But the end result is so beautiful.

I hardly have time to sit and fold papers these days. But yesterday I tried again. Wow! I can still remember how to fold a Hexagon Box!
20120816-072522.jpg
That is an example of simple modular origami, using pieces of paper. Models like The Bascetta Star will require about 30 pieces or thereabouts.

I still have a whole stack of origami papers!
Lovely floral papers
20120816-072626.jpg

Plain colored papers

20120816-072636.jpg

Metallic papers are cool!

20120816-072648.jpg

These are still unopened

20120816-072656.jpg

The papers are from Daiso, the everything at $2 store.

What better way to infuse my love for food and cooking into origami? Well, Origami Desserts!

20120816-080457.jpg
These are a little tricky to fold, partly because half the time I was trying to make sense of the diagrams (which are in Japanese). Chocolate cake, strawberry cake, cream puff, truffle. Looks so good, I’m salivating.

-hazrock, haz folds five

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2012 in -

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Crease Lightning

  1. davie23

    August 16, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Wow! Those are so intricate!

     
    • hazrock

      August 16, 2012 at 8:21 am

      Just hope my fingers are not tied up in knots! Fingers crossed. Pun intended. Lol

       
  2. ~Lady Day

    August 16, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    oh my word! they totally look edible. in fact, when i was looking at this on the reader before coming here, I thought the final shot was food. Crazy. I have never seen anything like it. Just lovely.

     
    • hazrock

      August 16, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      The cake set came with pre-printed papers. There was a metallic silver paper too to make a pair of tongs for the cakes (the tongs are partly seen in the photo). So cute!

       
      • ~Lady Day

        August 16, 2012 at 1:03 pm

        I came back just to see the tongs..lol. Never would have guessed.I think they may have better origami sets in your neck of the woods. Just sayin…I’ve seen and bought a few in my day, and never seen anything like this stuff.

         

Comments are appreciated

 
