RSS

Colour My World

08 Aug

20120808-070855.jpg
Sprinkles

I’m not a fan of too many bright colours. When I moved to my first home in 2005, I chose a lot of earth tones for the decor, meaning browns and beiges. No vibrant reds or oranges.

But in baking, however, I need colourful adornments to bring the sweet treats to life and make it look appealing and appetizing. And generally, I think people feel happy when they eat something with some sprinkles on top. Yes, even you grumpy people!

20120808-071500.jpg
I used to call them little sprinkles or “hundreds and thousands”. I’ve just learned that they are called Nonpareils. It has become one of my favourite words!

20120808-071648.jpg
My cupcakes instantly looked adorable when I adorned them with these Sugar Hearts.

20120808-071946.jpg
These are called Dragees. I hardly used them because I’m not really big on bling. But they looked nice if used sparingly on top of frosting.

-hazrock, in film noir

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Colour My World

  1. davie23

    August 8, 2012 at 7:31 am

    Pure bright happiness:))))

     
    • hazrock

      August 8, 2012 at 7:32 am

      I’m not a grumpy monster today! 🙂

       
  2. luvnorcal

    August 9, 2012 at 1:39 am

    I love the look of sprinkles but I’m wary of eating them because they are hard little flakes of sugar and when I crunch them I can feel my teeth decaying and getting little holes in them. 😡

     
    • luvnorcal

      August 9, 2012 at 1:40 am

      Lol at my angry face!! I meant this : x
      Which is more like awkward face or I should be quiet face

       
      • hazrock

        August 9, 2012 at 4:48 am

        Ouch! I never thought of teeth decay! Just make a deal, eat sprinkles and later brush your teeth like crazy! How about that?? 🙂

         

Comments are appreciated

 
