RSS

Vegging Out

30 Jul

20120730-200701.jpg
“Chap Chye” (Mixed Vegetable Stir Fry)

This is probably my most favourite way if eating vegetables. A Stir Fry!. I guess this is not the most authentic way to cook Chap Chye. Let’s just say this is my modernized, deconstructed version of it.

The vegetables I used are certainly not traditional. Asparagus, carrots, baby corn, sugar snaps (or some called it sugar beans) and button mushrooms. And I added sliced fish cakes. Sometimes I add shrimps. Some places I went to even added some chicken into it. All good!

As a child, I hated vegetables. I used to think they are rabbit food. But then again which kid doesn’t? I’m having a hard time getting my kids to eat greens. It was only when I was in my 20s that I decided, I think I want to try some of that. I know, I’m a late bloomer. Slowly, little by little, I began to try a few varieties of veggies. I still don’t eat much though but it’s an improvement from nothing, I guess.

Salads are ok, as long as there’s some meat in it. Chicken or tuna. Don’t give me an all-vegetable salad please! Or I will feel like a goat munching on leaves.

-hazrock, baaaaaaa…. baaaaa..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are appreciated

 
