RSS

Hae You!

26 Jul

20120726-200017.jpg
Hae Mee (Hokkien Prawn Noodles) for Iftar with family

Hae (pronounced as “hey”) means prawn in Hokkien, a Chinese dialect. Don’t be deceived by how bland it looks. It is in fact extremely tasty. The key ingredient, the pièce de résistance if you will, is prawn stock in which the noodles are braised. Don’t throw away the prawn shells. They are packed with flavour. Boil them in water for about 10-15 mins or so, throw in some onions and garlic and rock sugar, and whole black peppercorns, and you have prawn stock.
The cooked noodles have a rather rich seafood flavour and aroma. So to counter that, the dish is served with a little spicy chilli and a squeeze of calamansi lime. Balanced!

I have cooked this dish a few times. Why? Because they are so good!

20120726-202756.jpg

I even made this for my daughter’s 3rd birthday party couple of years ago. The guests cleaned it up!

20120726-203401.jpg

You might think, why are all my Hokkien Prawn Mee look the same? Well of course they are. They are the same dish! Duh!
Sorry! Sometimes I’m surrounded with less intelligent people.

-hazrock, sometimes ditzy

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Hae You!

  1. Aspergers Girls

    July 27, 2012 at 5:31 am

    I love prawns. That looks so divine….wish I was more gifted in the kitchen. 🙂

     
    • hazrock

      July 27, 2012 at 5:35 am

      It is easy to cook! I used to be intimidated by cooking or baking. Then I learned some simple recipes. And I thought, hey, this isn’t so bad. Then slowly, I became more adventurous! 🙂

       
      • Aspergers Girls

        July 27, 2012 at 5:45 am

        I can cook some Italian, but love all foods, would love to cook Indian, Thai, Chinese, etc…. love spicy…just have to get motivated, and find the energy. Really glad I found your blog. 🙂 Sam

         
      • hazrock

        July 27, 2012 at 5:47 am

        Thanks Sam! 🙂

         

Comments are appreciated

 
