RSS

Scent Of A Woman

20 Jul

… And in this case, it’s CURRY!!

Sometimes, the best food can be found in humble, unpretentious places. I had Thosei, a South Indian crepe at one of my favourite places to have it. Honestly, Kamala Villas Restaurant at Tekka Market looked like a dingy place to eat. I admit, that was my first impression of the establishment. But once I tried the Masala Thosei (with a spiced potato filling), I kept coming back for more.

20120720-213030.jpg
Masala Thosei, with a side dish of Masala Chicken

What I love about eating here, is that food is served on banana leaves, giving it an authentic South Indian dining experience. The condiments are served in little buckets (I’m not kidding). The restaurant used to have waiters carrying these and ladled them to customers. But now, they just plopped the whole thing on our tables, and we helped ourselves.

20120720-213358.jpg

And we ate with our fingers! It has been 2 hours since our meal. The heady scent of spices and curries is still evident on my fingers. And my nails turned a yellowish tinge, due to the presence of tumeric in the curries.

20120720-213657.jpg
That, would probably make any manicurist scream in horror. Haha!

-hazrock, dancing with Pacino

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Scent Of A Woman

  1. v3lia5

    July 20, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    mmmm, i miss authentic Indian food!

     
    • hazrock

      July 20, 2012 at 9:59 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! I have not been to India. But this looks authentic to me! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
