RSS

Little Fishies

13 Jul

20120713-202933.jpg
“Jemput-Jemput Ikan Bilis” or Anchovy Fritters

Is it me or does everyone on TV or movies hate anchovies? I mean, almost every show I watched, whenever they are ordering a pizza, no anchovies. Anchovies are disgusting. Blah blah blah. I have always known it by it’s Malay name, “ikan bilis”. And later, I knew the English name as anchovies. And I was like, what is wrong with these people? Anchovies are yum!

And finally, confusion was cleared and order was restored. The anchovies on pizzas are those slimy ones which I heard tasted like rusty iron. “Ikan Bilis” however, are dried anchovies and have the most wonderful crunch when fried. Also good in “sambals” or chilli sauce.

20120713-203930.jpg
Ikan Bilis or Dried Anchovies. Photo grabbed from Google Search

The Anchovy Fritters I made in the photo on top, are really good. Eat them while they are hot. Yes, even if it means burning your tongue. Such a perfect savoury snack on a rainy day, accompanied with a cup of tea. And, not a single taste of rusty iron detected.

-hazrock, iron maiden

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Little Fishies

  1. Sharifah

    July 21, 2012 at 5:10 am

    I have always loved ikan bilis, as fritters and also as an accompaniment to nasi goreng. I like anchovies, too. In California, I sometimes order my pizza with it. The last time I ordered pizza with anchovies, the guy who took the order said: “You are the first person in a long time to ask for it!”

     

Comments are appreciated

 
