RSS

Off-Key

08 Jul

20120707-213825.jpg
Key Lime Pie

It looked very easy to make. And it actually was. But I think there was something wrong with how it turned out. I will not name names, but I think the recipe from a certain “business magnate, author, magazine publisher, and television personality” is wrong. The pie filling was quite runny and it needed more time in the oven. And the recipe didn’t say it needs to be chilled in the fridge. I think it does, at least for couple of hours for it to set a little. Or else the whole thing would fall apart.
Well, I guess I will not refer to any more recipes from this cooking-crafts-gardening extraordinaire again.

Where I live, it is almost impossible to find bottled key lime juice, let alone fresh key limes. So I improvised, and used regular limes which are found in markets and supermarkets all over the country. Although there are key lime pie experts on YouTube who are adamant about using real key limes, there are others who said, “regular limes are just fine”.

The result? Let’s just say I’m not so completely satisfied about how it turned out. But overall, it’s fine. The taste, combination of sweetness and tartness, in the pie is something new to me. Love the flavour!

20120708-074704.jpg
The sliced pie was a little messy. Doesn’t mean it cannot be eaten. Yum!

-hazrock, eating humble pie

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Off-Key

  1. David

    July 9, 2012 at 4:04 am

    I’m a key lime master:))))) of eating!!! looks good

     
    • hazrock

      July 9, 2012 at 6:06 am

      Haha. Well I was trying to be critical of it. It can be better I think. Oh I know what’s wrong with it. You didn’t send me key limes!! Lol

       
      • David

        July 9, 2012 at 6:37 am

        oh no!!!! i forgot!! lol

         

Comments are appreciated

 
