RSS

It All Boils Down To..

08 Jul

20120708-165659.jpg
Mee Rebus from Makan Bagus! at Tampines Round Market

Mee Rebus, translated literally, means “boiled noodles”. The yellow egg noodles used in this dish is boiled or blanched slightly to cook it. Not too much boiling or else the noodles will be too soft and soggy. Not so appealing.

The thick, slightly sweet and spicy gravy is quite unique. Made with sweet potatoes, curry powder, spices, dried shrimps, what else? I don’t know. I never made this. But I love eating it.

As for the garnish, it is topped with fried, thinly sliced shallots, spring onions, sliced green chillies, fried little pieces of tofu, hard-boiled egg but in my case, I prefer fried egg.

I have read that this dish goes well with satay. I have seen some food stalls adding 2 sticks of satay and a bit of the satay peanut sauce on top of this dish. I have yet to try it. Oh so yum!

-hazrock, watching a pot that never seemed to boil

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “It All Boils Down To..

  1. David

    July 9, 2012 at 3:37 am

    It is your goal to make me ravenous on a daily basis:)))

     
    • hazrock

      July 9, 2012 at 6:22 am

      I was going for drool-y. But ravenous will do. Haha

       
      • David

        July 9, 2012 at 6:37 am

        lolololol

         

Comments are appreciated

 
