RSS

Sweet Mother

26 Jun

Food cooked by our mothers will always have a special place in our hearts. I feel that way about my mom’s cooking. No matter where I go, or whatever I do, or where i live, I know I can get a safe and homey feeling when I visit my parents at their home and eat what my mom cooks.

Here are special desserts made by my mom for her kids and grandkids when we came over for a visit.

20120626-131319.jpg
My mother’s Bubur Pulut Hitam (sticky black rice dessert). Rich and creamy, drizzled with coconut milk.

20120626-164429.jpg
Sago and Pumpkin dessert. Lovely and sweet. Palm sugar gave it a molasses-y sweetness.

Now that I’m a mother myself, it always fills me with gratification when I cook for my kids. No matter how tired I am, when they request that I make a dish for them, I will always accommodate. If I’m really tired, maybe I will bargain with them. “how about I cook that tomorrow? I don’t have the ingredients, and it’s already so late. The shops are closed”. Hehe. Sneaky tricks!

And it always makes my day to see them eating everything on their plates. But kids! Please, don’t pick up your plates and lick them! Euuw! Gross!

-hazrock, only licking my fingers

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 26, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are appreciated

 
