RSS

Nostalgia

25 Jun

20120625-072735.jpg
Lontong from Makan Bagus at Tampines Round Market

Ahh one of those comfort breakfast food. I had Lontong last Saturday morning, right after I dropped off my oldest son to his weekly religious class. Lontong is rice cakes and in this dish, a coconut gravy with vegetables is poured over. Also, a piece of fried tofu is added. Then topped with a spicy chilli sauce and serunding (shredded coconut fried in spices). But I a few other good stuff. Dried squid cooked in chilli and fried tempeh (fermented soy beans. I can’t stress enough how much I love this). After inhaling the entire bowl, I don’t even need lunch. Hehe!

Lontong almost always evokes memories of my late maternal grandmother. When I was little, and lived in a so called village, she used to sell Lontong on Sunday mornings right out of her kitchen. Village folks would come, with their own plates, to buy from her. For me, who had the privilege of being the Lontong seller’s granddaughter, I would just take my own plate, grab all the Lontong I want and eat happily. I don’t even have to pay. Hehe!!!

-hazrock, we miss you Nenek!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Nostalgia

  1. David

    June 25, 2012 at 8:08 am

    this truly looks delicious

     
    • hazrock

      June 25, 2012 at 8:18 am

      And no more free food! Lol

       
      • David

        June 25, 2012 at 8:18 am

        loololol

         

Comments are appreciated

 
