RSS

Anything Goes

14 Jun

That’s the title of an old Guns N Roses song from their Appetite For Destruction album. I had the cassette, which I played until death and then bought the CD and ripped it into mp3. But we are not here to talk about music!

20120614-071855.jpg
Norwegian Salmon from Cold Storage supermarket.

Love love love SALMON!! I love it raw in sushi. Not quite raw on its own like in sashimi. I rather have a bit of rice to go with it. A smear of wasabi and a dash of soy. Yums! And I love it cooked too, like in salmon steaks with just a little lemon butter sauce and a side salad.

So I scored some nice salmon from the supermarket. And I saw a video of Nigella Lawson marinating the salmon in hot English mustard, Wochestershire sauce, soy and sake. Then pan-frying it just for a minute or two on each side. Then wrapping the salmon in aluminum foil and let it continue cooking slowly by residual heat. And served it with rice and a sake/mustard sauce. It looked so good I just had to make it.

Being a Muslim, I can’t consume alcohol, which means no sake. So I did a bit of research and found out that rice vinegar will be a great substitute. I scoured supermarkets and only found rice wine vinegar. That’s no good either. In the end, to hell with it! I just used regular white vinegar. ANYTHING GOES! Haha!

Sake Salmon without the sake

20120614-075921.jpg

It tasted really good. But I don’t think I like the salmon half-cooked like this. And when I have some leftovers, I sliced up the salmon, pan-fried it all the way through and it made a great salad with some baby butterhead lettuce, homemade croutons, toasted pine nuts. I can’t even remember the dressing. Italian, I think. Or was it ranch? Like I said, ANYTHING GOES!!

20120614-080211.jpg

-hazrock, fish out of water

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Anything Goes

  1. David

    June 14, 2012 at 8:55 am

    love salmon!!!!!1 and that recipe sounds outstanding!!!!!

     
    • hazrock

      June 14, 2012 at 8:59 am

      Time to go fishing for salmon again! At the supermarket! Lol!

       
      • David

        June 14, 2012 at 9:01 am

        the best place!

         
      • hazrock

        June 14, 2012 at 9:02 am

        And no need to go dig for worms! Eeuwwww!

         

Comments are appreciated

 
