RSS

A Bowl Of Fire

14 Jun

20120614-210820.jpg
Kuay Teow Kuah at Thohirah Restaurant

Have I completely lost it? Me, who do not have a high tolerance for spicy food, ordered that for dinner? I was drawn to it. Like the rats in The Pied Piper of Hamlin. Ok maybe I’m not that scrawny. Heheh.

That is Kuay Teow Kuah. “Flat noodles in gravy”. I don’t remember this dish as having a fried egg. As far as i know it has a poached egg which is cooked together with the noodles and gravy. Or it might be they added the fried egg because they had messed up my order earlier. And I don’t remember this being soooo spicy. Yes it has a certain oomph to it. But this is like getting a flying kick from the Karate Kid! I eat pretty fast. But I tried to slow down for this one.

Half a bowl and a packet of tissues later (for wiping tears from my eyes, mucus from my nose and sweat from my brow), I gave up. And I felt pretty bad for wasting food. But I better stop before the insides of my tummy exploded into smithereens.

20120614-212109.jpg

Of course I tried to see the good side of everything. Hey! This cleared my sinuses! I can breathe easy now. Hooray!

-hazrock, smoke on the water, fire in the sky

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “A Bowl Of Fire

  1. David

    June 15, 2012 at 10:55 am

    I would have loved that:)))))

     
    • hazrock

      June 15, 2012 at 10:56 am

      That’s dangerous stuff! It didn’t come with a warning. Lol

       
  2. bellesogni

    June 17, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    I see you ate the egg – or at least it appears so. Good for you! Now you’ve made me curious to try it because I like hot and spicy and this sounds like it delivers!

     
    • hazrock

      June 17, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      Actually I ate BOTH eggs, the fried and the poached. Haha! Well, this one almost burned my stomach. So yes, you can say that it delivered. 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
