RSS

The one that almost got away

25 May

20120525-224938.jpg
Vanilla Cake with Mocha Fudge Frosting

It looked like a simple recipe with very basic ingredients. I was quite confident that I was going to nail this. I don’t know what went wrong, and the cake didn’t bake properly. Maybe I put too much batter into the pan. The sides were cooked but the middle was still noticeably jiggly. I went ahead and sliced a layer off the top. True enough, gooey in the centre. Urgh!

But I still want to salvage the cake. So back it went into the oven and I literally watched it bake for about 15mins. And it came out properly cooked. But it still looked kinda ugly so I sliced another thin layer off and finally it looked decent.

It doesn’t really matter much though, because I topped the whole cake with a Mocha Fudge Frosting. I like this frosting because it is not overly sweet. It uses semi-sweet chocolate chips and a little bit of light corn syrup instead of a ton of icing sugar, like most frostings. And a pinch of instant coffee gives the chocolate a boost of chocolate-y flavor.

20120525-230031.jpg

-hazrock, time to lick the spatula

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “The one that almost got away

  1. luvnorcal

    May 26, 2012 at 2:30 am

    You saved it! I’ve had that happen before, but it was beyond saving. A recipe for sponge cake that I found online…horrible, horrible. Had to toss it!

     
    • hazrock

      May 26, 2012 at 7:45 am

      I hate to waste food, which is why I tried my best to at least save half of it. Sigh. We are human after all.

       
  2. David

    May 26, 2012 at 9:13 am

    yes…food wasting is bad…it really looks good:)))

     
    • hazrock

      May 26, 2012 at 9:16 am

      Thanks davie. Yes, it came together quite n

       
      • hazrock

        May 26, 2012 at 9:16 am

        Nicely, I mean. Lol

         

Comments are appreciated

 
