RSS

Insectarium, not!

17 May

20120517-200205.jpg
Grasshopper Pie

Pies and whole cakes are something which I’m a little intimidated to try. Err.. To try and make, that is. Not try and eat because I’ve eaten a lot of pies and cakes. This Grasshopper Pie looks easy enough to make. And no baking too! Just needed to set in the fridge for maybe couple o hours.

Again, recipe from Nigella Lawson in her “Kitchen” series. She got the inspiration to make this while “watching an American tv show”, which I later found out was Glee, and i didn’t know that because I don’t watch Glee. But she added creme de menthe and creme de cacao blanc. Being a Muslim, I have to find substitutes. So I just added mint and chocolate flavourings and a few drops of food coloring to give it a lurid green color. The base of the pie is just bashed-up chocolate cookies. By “bashed-up” I really mean bashing them up in a plastic bag with a rolling pin. Great to get out all your frustrations. And the filling is marshmallows melted into heavy cream (or milk?), can’t remember.

I’m not really fond of the color green. But this green I like because it’s delicious! Allow me to have my prejudices, please. And with a cool name like that, I think I like this pie!

-hazrock, did you really put grasshoppers in that?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Insectarium, not!

  1. terriskitchenuk

    May 17, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    Oh I love Grasshopper Pie! Haven’t had it in ages so I might just have to make one! (I have a copy of Nigella’s recipe, too!) I used to work with a lady who would make one on occasion and bring it in to work for all of us in our department. It’s a lovely, clean flavor…mint and chocolate…yum!

     
    • hazrock

      May 17, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      Chocolate and mint goes so well together. And in ice cream too. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

       
  2. David

    May 18, 2012 at 6:13 am

    love green!!!!! don’t love mint:(((

     
    • hazrock

      May 18, 2012 at 6:22 am

      Special order for David! No mint Grasshopper Pie. My slaves are working on it. Lol!

       
      • David

        May 18, 2012 at 6:23 am

        yayyyyy!!!!!!!

         

Comments are appreciated

 
