RSS

Mise en place

16 May

20120516-211509.jpg
A very promising start of something nice

To those who know me, no, I’m not trying to sound pretentious by writing in French. You all should know me better than that! It is just a new phrase I learned. It is often use in restaurants. “Mise en place” means “putting in place”. As in, you get all the ingredients ready before the actual cooking starts. And as in what I’ve done here, getting everything ready, measure out everything so everything goes smoothly.

I have always believed in thinking everything out and preparing for the worst. As a Girl Guide in school, our motto is “Be Prepared”. I have somewhat stuck to that as I grew older. As a popular Malay saying goes, “have an umbrella ready before it rains”

So what is the outcome of all this mise en place? Ta-daaaaa! Cinnamon Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. The quick tip here is add a little vegetable shortening. While butter gives cookies a great flavor, shortening gives the cookies a light, crisp texture. The cookies are so moist and chewy too. Yumm! Anyway the cookies are just an excuse to test out my newly acquired toy, the hand-held mixer. I guess the Kitchenaid stand mixer will have to wait. Sigh..

20120516-230445.jpg

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies are vying with Chocolate Chip Cookies for the top spot in my Cookie Hall Of Fame. And to be honest, I think ORC is winning. Shh! Don’t tell the confident and smug CCC!

Au Revoir!

-hazrock, in a can-can dress, high kicking my way to Moulin Rouge.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Mise en place

  1. David

    May 17, 2012 at 5:34 am

    lovely as usual miss Can Can šŸ™‚

     
    • hazrock

      May 17, 2012 at 5:53 am

      Watch out for those high kicks!

       

Comments are appreciated

 
