RSS

1001 Arabian Nights

16 May

20120516-093951.jpg
Saffron-scented Chicken Pilaf

It was my first time cooking with saffron. Those beautiful precious threads looked so fragile, I’m almost scared to touch them. And it didn’t help that it is the most expensive spice in the world. A really tiny amount cost about S$10. And I think I was handling the saffron a little too carefully, that the tiny box slipped off my hands onto my kitchen counter and I let out a little yelp. Like I’ve seen a cockroach. Lol!

Anyway, I got this recipe from the a cooking show by the lovely Nigella Lawson, Forever Summer – Amber. Again, an easy recipe to follow. And i cooked the rice in a rice cooker instead of over the stove, making it even easier. The chicken was marinated in yoghurt, lemon juice and cinnamon. And of course you have to top whole thing with toasted nuts. I used flaked almonds, cashews and pistachios. Ahh! It’s like being transported to the souks of Morocco and any moment a tribe of bedouins, complete with camels, would just walk through your door and set up their dwelling tents. ROCK THE KASBAH!

-hazrock, arabian princess

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “1001 Arabian Nights

  1. David

    May 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Your food makes me sooooo hungry:)))

     
    • hazrock

      May 16, 2012 at 10:23 am

      Thanks Davie. My food makes me hungry too. Haha! 🙂

       

Comments are appreciated

 
