RSS

I Saw Red

12 May

20120512-153216.jpg

I am somewhat intrigued by Red Velvet Cupcakes. I’ve heard stories of people describing it as, well, velvet. To be honest I have NEVER tasted a red velvet cake. But my fascination with it grew with the amount of tutorial videos I watched on YouTube. I mean, really? Can a cake be THAT velvety moist?

So I decided upon myself to make it! And seriously, it looked dead easy to make. Nothing too hectic. And it seems like every one of those professional chefs and YouTube cooking sensations said that you have to have Cream Cheese Frosting over it. Otherwise it’s not a red velvet cake.

So here it is! And one of the videos shows how to decorate it by slicing off a bit of the top. Spread or pipe some frosting and chop or crumble the sliced off bit over the top. It’s brilliant! An EASY for an amateur cook like me.

And I also took a photo of the cupcake with just frosting. And I think I piped a little too much and the frosting sort of froze in suspended animation. Beautiful!

20120512-154930.jpg

OMG!!!. No kidding! I can’t believe how easy they are to make! Wow! The recipe I followed yielded 9 of these beauties. All gone in a snap! Not even the crumbs are left behind.
And you may have noticed I didn’t comment on the taste. Well, let’s just say I’m totally speechless at how true those claims of the cake’s velvety texture.

-hazrock

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “I Saw Red

  1. David

    May 12, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    mouthwatering…mmmmm

     

Comments are appreciated

 
